U
SKB 5 FAQ

FAQ

Registration

I'm not a student at the TU Berlin. Can I still participate in a course?

Are you a student at a university (worldwide), a TU alumn@ or an employee of one of Berlin's universities and colleges? Then you can attend our courses.

Do the classes fill up fast?

This varies greatly. However, especially for beginner courses in languages that are in high demand, such as German, Turkish, Spanish, English, French, Japanese, it is advisable to register on the first days of enrolment, if possible, if you want to be sure of getting a spot.

When is my place booked?

Your place in a course is not booked until you have paid the course fee.

How much do the language courses cost?

You can find our prices under Prices and conditions.

How does registration to and payment for courses work?

We offer language courses twice a semester: Semester-long courses during the winter and summer semesters and (semi-)intensive courses during the winter and summer semester breaks. You can register for a course about 2-3 weeks before it starts. This registration period is also called enrollment at SKB.

To register for a course, you must pay the course fee with a bank transfer. We will provide you with the account information when you register. Unfortunately, no other payment methods are possible at the moment.

Important: The registration is only complete when your payment has arrived on our TU bank account. A reservation for a spot in a language course without payment isn't possible!

Can I withdraw from a course I've booked?

If you have already registered and paid for a course, but then decide not to participate, you may still withdraw from the course. However, a withdrawal is only possible within the registration period
(= enrollment period). This means that you have to inform us in writing (via e-mail or cancellation button in the user account) about your wish to cancel your registration until the last day of the enrollment period at the latest. You will then be refunded the course fee you paid minus an administrative fee of 15,- Euro.

Is the course material included in the course fee?

Each SKB teacher decides individually which material they will use in their course. If a certain book or material is used in the course, it could be that you have to buy this for the course. If the course requires additional material, it is always mentioned in the course description. You will already know which extra costs might arise when you register.

How big are the language classes?

Our courses have between 4 and a maximum of 14 participants.

What happens if a course cannot take place?

Our courses have a minimum number of participants, usually four or five people. To teach a course with less participants would entail an unsustainable financial loss. This means that if fewer people than the minimum register for a course, unfortunately the course can't take place.

The teacher then tries to find alternatives, for example by combining two similar course levels in one course. Unfortunately, this is not always possible. If a course cannot take place, we will inform you in good time and of course refund your complete course fee.

If, for example, a course does not take place or only takes place partially due to illness of the teacher, we will also refund the fee for the cancelled course dates.

Placement tests

Who has to take a placement test?

You must take a placement test if

a) you already have knowledge of the respective language and have not yet attended a course at SKB or
b) your last SKB course was more than two semesters ago.

Who does NOT have to take a placement test?

You do not need a placement test if you have

a) have successfully completed an SKB course no longer than two semesters ago with a certificate of attendance and now wish to enroll in the follow-up course,
b) you would like to register for a "Beginner without previous knowledge" (A1.1) course.

I have a language certificates from another institution. Do I still have to take a placement test?

Yes, you have to take a test. Language certificates from other institutions do not help us, because our level classification does not always correspond to those of other institutes. Also, it is important to us that we really place you in the right course for you.

Further questions about our courses

What language are the courses in?

The higher level courses (A2/B1 and above) are usually in the target language (for example, in Spanish in a Spanish course). The teaching language in courses with lower levels (A1/A2) is usually German. By arrangement with the individual lecturers, courses can also be held in English. Please contact us before you enroll.

The theaching language in the lower level German courses (A1/A2) is usually English, while in the higher level courses (A2/B1 and above) it is German.

Can I have an SKB course recognised as ECTS points/WS in the compulsory elective area or free elective area?

Although we can confirm your successful participation in one of our courses, we are not authorized to award credit points. It is up to your university to decide whether you can get an SKB course recognised in your course of studies after presenting the confirmation of participation. You will have to ask your institute or the responsible examination office. So far, recognition has only been granted in exceptional cases.

Is there an exam at the end of the course?

No, but we can confirm successful participation with a certificate.

Can I change course?

Please always talk to the instructor if you think the course level is not right for you. If we have misclassified you, we will try to find another course for you.

Do you still have questions that have not been answered? Then write us an e-mail.

#!trpst#trp-gettext data-trpgettextoriginal=7603#!trpen#Consent Management Platform by Real Cookie Banner#!trpst#/trp-gettext#!trpen#

U
SKB 5 FAQ

FAQ

Anmeldung

Ich studiere nicht an der TU Berlin. Kann ich trotzdem an einem Kurs teilnehmen?

Bist du Student*in einer Hochschule (weltweit), TU-Alumn@ oder Mitarbeiter*in einer der Berliner Unis und Hochschulen? Dann kannst du unsere Kurse besuchen.

Werden die Kurse schnell voll?

Das ist sehr unterschiedlich. Vor allem für Anfängerkurse in stark nachgefragten Sprachen wie Deutsch, Türkisch, Spanisch, Englisch, Französisch, Japanisch empfiehlt es sich aber, sich möglichst an den ersten Tagen der Einschreibung anzumelden, wenn du sicher einen Platz haben möchtest.

Wann ist mein Platz gebucht?

Dein Platz in einem Kurs ist erst gebucht, wenn du die Kursgebühr bezahlt hast.

Wie viel kosten die Sprachkurse?

Unsere Preise findest du unter Preise und Konditionen.

Wie funktioniert die Kursanmeldung und Bezahlung?

Wir bieten zweimal im Semester Sprachkurse an: Semesterbegleitende Kurse während des Winter- und Sommersemester und (Semi-)Intensivkurse während der Winter- und Sommersemesterferien. Jeweils ca. 2-3 Wochen vor dem Beginn der Kurse kannst du dich zu einem Kurs anmelden. Dieser Anmeldezeitraum heißt bei der SKB auch Einschreibung.

Um dich für einen Kurs anzumelden, musst du die Kursgebühr per Überweisung bezahlen. Die Kontoinformationen teilen wir dir bei der Anmeldung mit. Im Moment sind leider keine anderen Zahlungsarten möglich.

Wichtig: Die Anmeldung ist erst dann erfolgreich abgeschlossen, wenn deine Überweisung auf dem TU-Konto eingegangen ist. Eine Reservierung für einen Sprachkurs ohne Bezahlung ist nicht möglich!

Kann man von einem gebuchten Kurs wieder zurücktreten?

Falls du dich bereits für einen Kurs angemeldet und bezahlt hast, dich dann aber entscheidest, doch nicht mehr teilzunehmen, hast du die Möglichkeit vom Kurs zurückzutreten. Ein Rücktritt ist aber nur innerhalb der Anmeldezeit
(= Einschreibunsperiode) möglich. Das heißt, du musst uns deinen Rücktrittswunsch schriftlich (per E-Mail oder Storno-Button im User-Account) bis spätestens zum letzten Tag der Einschreibungsperiode mitteilen. Du bekommst dann die von dir gezahlte Kursgebühr abzüglich einer Verwaltungsgebühr in Höhe von 15,- Euro zurückerstattet.

Ist das Kursmaterial in der Kursgebühr enthalten?

Alle Kursleiter*innen der SKB entscheiden individuell, mit welchem Material sie im Kurs arbeiten. Wenn im Kurs ein bestimmtes Buch verwendet wird, kann es sein, dass du dir dieses Buch für den Kurs kaufen musst. Ob du Zusatzmaterial für den Kurs brauchst, steht immer schon in der Kursbeschreibung im Kursangebot dabei. Du weißt also schon bei der Anmeldung, welche Kosten eventuell noch auf dich zukommen.

Wie groß sind die Sprachkurse?

Unsere Kurse haben zwischen 4 und maximal 14 Teilnehmer*innen.

Was passiert, wenn ein Kurs nicht stattfinden kann?

Unsere Kurse haben eine Mindestteilnehmenden Zahl von normalerweise vier oder fünf Personen. Sonst würden wir mit dem Kurs ein finanzielles Minus machen. Wenn sich für einen Kurs weniger Personen angemeldet haben, kann der Kurs leider nicht stattfinden.

Die Kursleitenden bemühen sich, dann Alternativen anzubieten, zum Beispiel, indem zwei ähnliche Kursniveaus in einem Kurs zusammengelegt werden. Das gelingt aber leider nicht immer. Wenn ein Kurs nicht stattfinden kann, informieren wir dich rechtzeitig und erstatten dir selbstverständlich deine Kursgebühr zurück.

Auch wenn ein Kurs zum Beispiel wegen Krankheit des Kursleiters / der Kursleiterin nicht oder nur teilweise stattfindet, erstatten wir dir Gebühr für die ausgefallenen Kurstermine.

Einstufung

Wer muss einen Einstufungstest machen?

Du musst einen Einstufungstest machen, wenn

a) du schon Kenntnisse in der jeweiligen Sprache hast und noch keinen Kurs an der SKB besucht hast oder
b) dein letzter SKB-Kurs länger als zwei Semester zurückliegt.

Wer muss KEINEN Einstufungstest machen?

Du brauchst keinen Einstufungstest, wenn du

a) vor nicht länger als zwei Semestern einen SKB-Kurs erfolgreich mit Teilnahmezertifikat absolviert hast und dich nun für den Folgekurs einschreiben möchtest,
b) dich für einen „Anfänger ohne Vorkenntnisse“ (A1.1)-Kurs anmelden möchtest.

Ich habe Sprachzeugnisse einer anderen Institution. Muss ich trotzdem einen Einstufungstest machen?

Ja, in diesem Fall musst du einen Test machen. Sprachzeugnisse von anderen Institutionen helfen uns nicht, weil unsere Niveaueinteilung nicht immer mit denen anderer Institute übereinstimmt. Außerdem ist es uns wichtig, das wir dich wirklich in den für dich passenden Kurs einstufen.

Weitere Fragen zu unseren Kursen

Auf welcher Sprache sind die Kurse?

Die Kurse mit höheren Niveaus (ab A2/B1) sind normalerweise auf der Zielsprache (zum Beispiel auf Spanisch in einem Spanischkurs). Die Lehrsprache in Kursen mit niedrigeren Niveaus (A1/A2) ist normalerweise Deutsch. Nach Absprache mit den einzelnen Dozierenden können die Kurse auch auf Englisch gehalten werden. Bitte kontaktiere uns bevor du dich anmeldest.

Die Lehrsprache in den Deutschkursen mit niedrigeren Niveaus (A1/A2) ist normalerweise Englisch, während sie in den Kursen mit höheren Niveaus (ab A2/B1) Deutsch ist.

Kann ich einen SKB-Kurs als SWS im Wahlpflichtbereich oder freien Wahlbereich anerkennen lassen?

Wir können dir zwar bei erfolgreicher Teilnahme an einem unserer Kurse die Teilnahme bestätigen, zur Vergabe von Leistungspunkten sind wir aber nicht berechtigt. Die Entscheidung darüber, ob du dir nach Vorlage der Teilnahmebestätigung einen SKB-Kurs für dein Studium anerkennen lassen kannst, liegt bei deiner Hochschule. Du müsstest dies in deinem Institut oder zuständigen Prüfungsbüro nachfragen. Bisher erfolgte eine Anerkennung nur in Ausnahmefällen.

Gibt es eine Prüfung am Ende des Kurses?

Nein, aber wir können dir eine erfolgreiche Teilnahme mit einem Zertifikat bestätigen.

Kann ich einen Kurs wechseln?

Bitte sprich immer mit dem/der Kursleiter*in, wenn du glaubst, dass das Kursniveau nicht richtig für dich ist. Sollten wir dich falsch eingestuft haben, versuchen wir einen anderen Kurs für dich zu finden.

Hast du noch Fragen, die nicht beantwortet wurden? Dann schreib uns gern  eine E-Mail.

Consent Management Platform by Real Cookie Banner